Proud to be a Filthy Liberal Scum

Loud, Proud and I don't care about hurting a conservative's feelings!

Sleepy Time Thought 3/19/2012

What I try to do here is cut through the bullshit and present a viewpoint based on A. liberal values and B. reality. I try to do it in such a way that you can not only clearly understand the issues but also articulate it to others.

For this, I’ve been accused of polarizing the discourse. If by “polarizing” you mean separating “truth” from “Fox News,” then yes, that’s exactly what I do. My goal in life is to put conservatives on the defensive. No more shying away from confrontation. If they want to spin a economic recovery into an impending disaster then they’re going to have to defend it. And if when they can’t, they have to answer for it or reveal themselves for the liars they are.

Reasonable people of can disagree on policy as long as both are working with the same facts. What I will not do is allow fantasy and lies to be used to justify an agenda of greed and intolerance. And I don’t want you to do it either. I want filthy liberal scum all over the country to look up and say, “You know what? That’s a fucking lie and I can prove it.”

We spent over thirty years cringing away from the word “liberal” like it was a curse word while the right flushed the country down the toilet and sold what was left to the corporations. Been there, done that. I want you to get angry at the way you’ve been used and abused by lies. I want you to stare a Fox viewer in the eye and say, “You think he’s a Muslim? You think his birth certificate is fake? You’re a fucking idiot and I’m going to tell the world that in as loud a voice as I can.”

I’ve lost several friends and have been blocked many times because I demanded they back up their beliefs. But while they became angry and distraught over their failure to do so, others looked on and wondered why that was. How can you be so sure of something but not be able to explain why? And that’s my true goal: To show the undecided and fence sitters that the right has nothing to offer but greed and misery. I argue with trolls and fools to demonstrate the hollowness of their “beliefs” and the complete intellectual bankruptcy of the right. The do not have a plan. they have a dogma. And the more that truth is exposed, the quicker the GOP will collapse under its own corruption.

Think about that the next time you decide to ignore a friend or relative spouting right wing talking points that you know, for a fact, to be a lie. Are you really helping the situation in the long term? Or do you have an obligation to counter lies with the truth? It may not be easy but nothing worth doing ever is.

“All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing.” (Edmund Burke)

*steps off his soapbox*

Sleep tight you filthy liberal scum!

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Sleepy Time Thought 3/19/2012

  1. Jennifer on said:

    Well said. I do love a good argument and insist; strongly, that actual facts have to be part of said discussion. I thoroughly enjoy your rightous rants. They are empowering and I look forward to each post.

  2. Roberts Kathleen on said:

    (loud clapping) hear hear!! Well said Justin.

  3. lucybeckett35 on said:

    Like it? Hell, I love it!! I, too, am proud to be a progressive liberal! I’ve been fighting with conservatives since I was a kid, and didn’t know what the hell I was talking about. But I do now, and if I don’t, I know how to find it. When I was a kid, the views of my parents just didn’t seem fair to me. I guess that’s still at the heart of my liberalism. How can conservatives have so little empathy for the circumstances of others?

    Night, night, cutie pie!

  4. I really like this. Very well said and very empowering. We need to make a better future and the easy way is not going to work!

  5. Filthy Liberal Scum on said:

    You know what bothers me most? Are friends who have been brain washed by the lies. I see hard working middle class people defending the crazy claims… and it hurts to know they are fighting for a party that does not care about them at all. The Republican party is driven by greed. They will stoop to ANY depth. I just don’t know how anyone can believe some of the blatant lies, or once they are proven liars… their followers just shrug it off and STILL FOLLOW? I’m sorry, but I have no tolerance for stupid. I wish I had more tact to show the fools that they are being led down a path.

  6. Margrietha on said:

    The nicest thing , is the quoting the right wing hero!! Thanks!! I go and use that!!

  7. Resa Dudley on said:

    I ignored a right-wingnut sister-in-law just last night because I wanted to “keep the peace”. Revisiting that decision after reading your sleepy-time thoughts.

Leave a Reply

