Proud to be a Filthy Liberal Scum

Loud, Proud and I don't care about hurting a conservative's feelings!

Please Mr. Olbermann, Check The Ego At The Door!

So that’s the end of that. Kieth Olbermann is off the air yet again. Somehow, I don’t see him coming back on anytime soon.  Who’s going to hire someone that can’t keep their ego in check? And he’s being replaced with disgraced ex-governor Eliot Spitzer. Well, if Newt “serial cheater” Gingrich can make it to the final three in the GOP field then I guess Spitzer can be a liberal commentator.

I get it, having people value your opinion and look to you for information and perspective is heady stuff. I’ve been doing this for a whole whopping year and every now and then I stop and say, “Holy crap! People actually listen to me!” And I’m like, “WOOHOO!” Then the reality of what that means crashes in and I say, “Holy crap! People actually listen to me!” And I’m like, “Damn, that’s some serious shit!” That doesn’t mean I won’t argue with my readers (we’re liberals, that’s what we do) but I certainly won’t take them for granted.

Unlike, say, everyone on Fox, my job is to inform and motivate (as opposed to confuse and distract). Sure, I’d like to make a career out of it but what’s the point if I lose sight of what it is I’m supposed to be doing? I think Olbermann lost his way and we’re all the poorer for it.

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Please Mr. Olbermann, Check The Ego At The Door!

  1. Jennifer on said:

    Jesus Keith. I’m terribly disappointed in you. We share the same birthday, although mine came several years after yours. Astrologically speaking, we should be very similar. My ego is about the size of my pinky fingernail and yours seems to be equal to Newt’s . Granted I’ve never been on TV, nor am I well known, nor do I wish that. But fuck Keith, you shot yourself in the damn foot. Again.

  2. Meh, we all make mistakes. Even huge ones. More than once. When the man hit the nail on the head, he hit it hard, fast and repeatedly.

    Hopefully, we’ll see him again someday.

  3. Van Aggson on said:

    Another fine liberal voice falls from grace… its sad.

  4. I’m going to miss Keith a lot but I think Elliot will be great also

  5. I have missed Keith on TV – Current is not offered in my area, but I always loved his passion. He can be a little overbearing, grant you, but I always considered him to be on correct (I hate to use ‘right’) side of the issues. I have been weened, but will still feel his absence during the elections – he was great in 2008!

    I also mourn the loss of Anthony Weiner…we really need his voice now!

    • Debbie on said:

      Dianne Wing, I agree with you, except that you didn’t miss Keith much more than I did and I HAVE Current!!! Keith was a no-show for many nights, I don’t know what the percentage was, but it seemed like a lot. I understand he was having some kind of issues with Current, but I’m sure he was being paid a pretty good salary to do his job and he let down not only Current but also his fans. I’m disappointed about how this all worked out, but so far I’m okay with Spitzer and will give him a fair chance.

      • LOL, Debbie, that’s what I heard, Keith was a no-show. They got off on the wrong foot when they didn’t allow Keith to cover the Iowa Caucus…he holds a grudge apparently. Thank you for your comment.

Leave a Reply

