Proud to be a Filthy Liberal Scum

Loud, Proud and I don't care about hurting a conservative's feelings!

Your Stories: Anchor Babies And Blind Prejudice

These are the first hand accounts of the human cost of greed, corruption or bigotry in our country. We are not post-racial, women are not equals, homosexuals are still reviled, corporations ruin lives and justice is sometimes not only blind, but deaf and mute as well. We have a lot of work to do and it’s important that you know you are not working alone. Others share your pain and now they are willing to share it with the world. 

The worst part about this story? Replace “Hispanic” with “Black” and it might as well have been written in the 1950s. How far we (haven’t) come.

From reader SA:

When I was seventeen years old I fell in love with my husband. A lot of people had a problem with our relationship, because he was older than me and because he was Hispanic. I come from a family that on the outside claims to be tolerant of other races but in reality is not. They called him my “Mexican boyfriend” and made snarky comments.

We dated for about a year and during that time (my senior year of high school) I got pregnant because I was stupid. Instead of supporting me, everyone told me the right thing to do is have an abortion. My mother even paid for it. I never told my husband about this until recently but that is beside the point.

So I graduated high school in May and in July I decided to get married. Everyone told me it wasn’t going to last. Then people started to find out that he is actually from El Salvador and that is when the stupid started. I have heard many things about how he only married me to become a citizen. My mother has said that he deserves to go back because he broke the law. My friends were telling me that he was going to leave me. My mother has asked,” Why did you marry him? You don’t even know if you like white guys since you never tried one.” I am not really sure what that is supposed to mean since most mothers would be happy to hear that their child married the man they lost their virginity to. But apparently I was supposed to whore it up before I married him.

I have been called UNAMERICAN because I stand against state sponsored immigration bills. I have been told to get the hell out of this country when I explain that maybe if the American sponsored Salvadoran Army had not destroyed El Salvador he wouldn’t be here. HOW dare I speak against our military when my brother is a soldier. I have been told that I had no self confidence and that is why I settled for the “Mexican”. People have called my son an anchor baby, they have told me my husband deserves to be shot for coming here illegally. They have said he is garbage and his kind are ruining our country.

I started to get involved in politics because it disgusts me that in this day and age people still treat others like this. I have been a staunch advocate of human rights because of my experiences. I will continue to scream against this shit because I do not want my child to grow up in a country that reacts like this to a biracial marriage. BTW, we have been married for 9 years and he still does not have his papers….I guess all those idiots were wrong. That is the other thing, it sickens me; that I live in a country that allows me to marry an immigrant but then expects me to accept their stupid law that makes him wait 1-10 yrs in his country for a visa to come back. And they wonder why more people don’t get their papers straight.

As a biracial child myself (Jewish/Puerto Rican) I rarely had to put up with this kind of  prejudice. Partly because I live in NY which tends to be more tolerant and partly because I was too big to safely pick on. Size hath its privileges but not everyone can be 6’2″.

If you want to share your story, contact me here. Your privacy is guaranteed if you choose to remain anonymous or you can shout it out to the world. The choice is yours. Don’t worry about being the greatest writer ever. Not everyone can be Shakespeare. Just tell your story and let the literary critics worry about themselves.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Your Stories: Anchor Babies And Blind Prejudice

Leave a Reply

