Proud to be a Filthy Liberal Scum

Loud, Proud and I don't care about hurting a conservative's feelings!

Happy 420 I Guess…

I’ve mentioned it before but I’ll repeat it again: I don’t smoke pot. I’ve never smoked pot and I never will. It doesn’t appeal to me in the slightest. I’ve had contact highs from being in the same room with a bunch of potheads and meh, not impressed. That being said, I don’t care if you smoke pot every now and then. Sure, go for it. Why not? I get buzzed every couple of months and actually drunk every couple of years.

Now, I am aware that pot is superior to alcohol in that you can grow it in your own backyard (the bushes get quite large). You cannot become physically addicted to it (mentally is another story but you can become mentally addicted to anything, even political blogging :). I know it does not cause a fraction of the car accidents drinking does and I can’t imagine, for the life of me, a pothead starting a barroom brawl. Etc. Etc. Pot is not evil.

On  the other hand, legalization is not exactly the most critical of political issues. Don’t get me wrong, I think it should absolutely be legal for medicinal purposes. I also think it’s been abused for ahem…”medicinal purposes.” Oh, I have a prescription for my headache wink, wink, screws it up for the people who actually need it.

With all the problems we, as a country, face if the most pressing issue you can think of is legalizing recreational marijuana, congratulations, you’re officially the victim of a first world problem. If you’re thinking Obama is a terrible president because he does not support legalizing recreational pot, what the hell is wrong with you? 1 out of every 4 children in the richest country in the history of the world live in poverty and that’s what has you upset? If you chant
“Ron Paul 2012!” because he wants to legalize pot, you’re just a frakking moron.

Let’s get a little perspective here. If you want to argue that legalizing pot will both reduce crime and seriously increase tax revenues, that is a perfectly legitimate conversation to have. I totally agree with it and I could give two puffs on a dutchie about marijuana. You want to fight to make it available to the sick because of its medicinal value? Hell yes, I’m on board! Easing suffering = good. But if all you want is to be able to get wasted and watch Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure? Grow up. We’ve got bigger things to deal with and you’re not helping.

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Happy 420 I Guess…

  1. I agree w/you Justin. Well said.

  2. You mean they gave up watching Scooby Doo while stoned?

  3. I want medicinal marijuana legalized. More than this though I want industrial Hemp (agricultural) legalized as a crop. The capriciousness of criminalizing this crop because it competed with plastic shows just how far-reaching and immoral capitalism truly is without some controls.

  4. Reblogged this on While you were sleeping and commented:
    “If you chant “Ron Paul 2012!” because he wants to legalize pot, you’re just a frakking moron…”

Leave a Reply

