Proud to be a Filthy Liberal Scum

Loud, Proud and I don't care about hurting a conservative's feelings!

Sleepy Time Thought: Bashing The Mainstream Media 4/26/2012

It’s ironic that many on the left, myself absolutely included, spend a great deal of time bashing the MSM. This is, after all, what the right has been working towards for decades ever since Ronald Reagan did away with the Fairness Doctrine. After that it was “liberal media this” and “liberal media that” culminating in Fox News whose specific purpose is to push a far right agenda. Fox was news you could trust! The MSM lied to you all the time.

Sadly, the MSM has fallen for this ploy hook, line and stinker. They are so cowed by charges of bias that they are actively biased in the other direction. They’ve taken the Fairness Doctrine and turned it on its head. Instead of providing contrasting viewpoints, they do the contrasting themselves with the intent of seeming “balanced.” The result is a lack of analysis and a presentation as fact of even the most egregious lie. The nightly news has become completely worthless and newspapers fare little better. This is why I get my information from sources I trust and I only trust them after I’ve vetted them for a time. Hell, I spent months fact checking Kieth Olbermann before I decided he wasn’t flimflamming me. I certainly expect to teach my kids how to be a discerning consumer of media. And I hope all of you do, as well.

I could promise that I’ll never lie to you but that’s just what a liar would say, isn’t it? I would hope that you, deranged liberal readers, fact check me constantly to keep me honest. I’m not particularly worried about that, though. What do I look like? A conservative? 😉

Sleep tight you filthy liberal scum!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Sleepy Time Thought: Bashing The Mainstream Media 4/26/2012

  1. Thanks Filthy Liberal Scum! We all appreciate your quirky but honest point of view!

  2. I am very lucky to have found a (private, sorry) group of skeptical liberal people who only use trusted sources. Well, try to — I’ve had to ask a couple times for an alternative source because they cited the Daily Mail (aka Daily Heil, in case you didn’t know).

    Being in Canada, the best I get is MSNBC. No Current. But, when I first watched MSNBC, I couldn’t believe what I’d been missing back in 2008 when I bored myself to death trying to get valuable information out of CNN. And since I live on the west coast, Morning Joe is on prohibitively early…but I don’t really like Chris Matthews that much either, even though I will credit him for still asking the hard questions. But I still wish I had Current, even though The Young Turks streams online…

    If you want to know what I think of Canadian mainstream media, go to youtube and punch in “chris hedges kevin o’leary”. Before you ask, our satirical broadcasts are titled “This Hour Has 22 Minutes” (or just 22 Minutes now I think, it makes fun of pretty well everyone) and “The Rick Mercer Report” (Rick Mercer == Canadian Jon Stewart plus amazing rants); “The Lang and O’Leary Exchange” is a serious one.

Leave a Reply

