Proud to be a Filthy Liberal Scum

Loud, Proud and I don't care about hurting a conservative's feelings!

Sleepy Time Thought: In The Night Kitchen 5/8/2012

I was saddened to hear that Maurice Sendak, the author/illustrator of one of my two favorite books from when I was a child, died today. In The Night Kitchen sent my imagination soaring through the starry sky to romp through a magical kitchen in which I would wear a suit of armor made of cake. I can’t even begon to guess how many times I reread that book. I had not realized that it had been banned in libraries across the country because the little boy was naked. As a parent of young children myself, I find such prudery to be ridiculous and look forward to the next year or two when my little ones are old enough to understand the magic of Sendak’s stories.

Milk! For the morning cake!

Sleep tight you filthy liberal scum!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Sleepy Time Thought: In The Night Kitchen 5/8/2012

  1. One of my favorite books as a child was “Where the Wild Things Are” – just saw Maurice Sendak a short while back on Stephen Colbert where he offered advice on Stephen’s new book “I am a Pole, and So Can You!” He actually liked it! He was a great author and one that captured the imagination of children and adults alike.

Leave a Reply

